top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDakota Feirer

Trees Leaves Solemnity: a deep-voiced lost boy story






three green oak trees lined the street across from my balcony

that same place she first handed her cigarette to me

still imprinted with her dark red lipstick

knowing I would eventually taste it

along with that sapor of cheap red wine

that night I was hers and she was mine

a love endowed and governed through time.


day by day, outside grows colder

the trees leaves change in colour and start to wander

day by day, our hearts grow fonder

though eventually, the falling leaves dance like ghosts in the street

like diligent thieves, they stole her away from me.


now all I know is

solemnity

and all I see are

trees

with no

leaves.


it’s been months and I'm still feelin less like me

been smokin more than usually and can't stop listening to RnB



sleepin is never easy

haunted by dreams and memories of histories



histories of magic, romance and ancestry

histories where real men were born from matriarchies



but I wake up to a contrast

a deep-voiced lost boy

forced to live in a heteropatriarchy.





still feel it in my dreams, the history

thrown in chains by foreign names

forced a discourse that says: emotional pain does not equate to being a strong male.



I guess a teardrop cannot travel through a suit of chainmail

probably had ancestors that wore that shit,

high probability of being called a bitch for expressing all of this.



What choice does

a deep-voiced lost boy

have?



fuckboys don't cry

fuckboys lie

fuckboys don't even have a heart inside.



so then I asked why?



why is it when she left it killed me

but I only wished I had died

that way I wouldn't have realized,

that pain travels in circles

and never in straight lines



if I was born before history - as a real man

I would build you a house full of sunlight

with no glass ceilings

and you could surpass my success

without damaging my feelings.


I still wrestle with the words

man

and

meaning

in the so-called 21st century



now I can barely stand tall in sight



so I threw away my spine



now every kiss tastes like spite



doused in cheap red wine.
























By Dakota Feirer


58 views0 comments
bottom of page